Prime Steakhouse in Ventura

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been meaning to give a nod to Prime Steakhouse in Ventura since eating there about a month ago with my husband and some friends.  What a fantastic restaurant.  We were all impressed by the ambiance, service, wine, and food. 

As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted by the very personable owner who showed us to our table.  We were soothed by the romantic and relaxing mood set by the dim lighting, charming arty décor, and talented jazz trio.  Our waiter was very friendly and helpful, and guided us in our food and wine selections.  We all ordered the special – a four course meal that included choices of appetizer, salad, entrée, and side dish.  I chose the grilled shrimp appetizer and my husband had the tuna tartare (ahi tuna with avocado and spicy Thai chili sauce).  Mine was good, but I recommend the tuna tartare.  I had the Steak House Wedge (iceberg lettuce, hickory bacon, tomato, red onion and blue cheese dressing); my husband had the Caesar Salad.  For my entrée I ordered the filet mignon, and my husband ordered the prime rib.  For our side dishes we both had the twice baked potato (other choices of side dishes include Smokey Six Cheese Mac & Cheese, fresh asparagus spears, creamed spinach, and more).  It was all outstanding.  The four of us also shared two bottles of red wine from an extensive wine list, and, even though I can’t recall what they were, they were wonderful.  The owner and wait staff is knowledgeable about the wines on the list.  We were too stuffed to order dessert, but I imagine it is great too.

I look forward to dining at Prime Steakhouse again in the near future, and highly recommend it as a top dining establishment in Ventura.  Visit http://www.primesteakvc.com/

Leave a Reply

